The Legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the Lieutenant-Governor and a Legislative Assembly, except for the Province of Quebec where there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the Lieutenant-Governor on the advice of the Premier of the province.

The source of legislative authority of the Provincial Legislatures is the British North America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c. 3 and amendments). Under Sect. 92 of the Act, the Legislature of each province exclusively may make laws in relation to the following matters: amendment of the constitution of the province except as regards the Lieutenant-Governor; direct taxation within the province; borrowing of money on the credit of the province; establishment and tenure of provincial offices and appointment and payment of provincial officers; the management and sale of public lands belonging to the province and of the timber and wood thereon; the establishment, maintenance and management of public and reformatory prisons in and for the province; the establishment, maintenance and management of hospitals, asylums, charities and eleemosynary institutions in and for the province, other than marine hospitals; municipal institutions in the province; shop, saloon, tavern, auctioneer and other licences issued for the raising of provincial or municipal revenue; local works and undertakings other than interprovincial or international lines of ships, railways, canals, telegraphs, etc., or works which, although wholly situated within one province, are declared by the Federal Parliament to be for the general advantage either of Canada or of two or more provinces; the incorporation of companies with provincial objects; the solemnization of marriage in the province; property and civil rights in the province; the administration of justice in the province including the constitution, maintenance and organization of provincial courts both of civil and of criminal jurisdiction including procedure in civil matters in these courts; the imposition of punishment by fine, penalty or imprisonment for enforcing any law of the province relating to any of the aforesaid subjects; generally all matters of a merely local or private nature in the province.

Further, in and for each province the Legislature exclusively may, under Sect. 93, make laws in relation to education subject to certain restrictions relating to the establishment of schools by religious minorities. These powers with similar restrictions were conferred on the more recently admitted provinces on their inclusion in the federation.

The Provincial Legislatures may also make laws under Sect. 95 in relation to agriculture and immigration, subject to any laws of the Parliament of Canada in relation to these subjects.

Provincial Franchise.—Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person, male or female, at a specified age (18 to 21 years) who is a Canadian citizen or (in certain provinces) other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. Voting privileges are given to persons in Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan at the age of 18, in Newfoundland, Alberta and British Columbia at 19 years, and in the remaining provinces at 21 years.

Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly has 42 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Sept. 8, 1966 is the 34th in the history of Newfoundland and the 6th since Confederation.

Since the date of Confederation, Mar. 31, 1949, the province has had four Lieutenant-Governors: the Hon. Sir Albert Joseph Walsh commissioned Apr. 1, 1949; the Hon. Lt.-Col. Sir Leonard Outerbridge commissioned Sept. 5, 1949; the Hon. Campbell Macpherson commissioned Dec. 16, 1957; and the Hon. Fabian O'Dea commissioned Mar. 1, 1963. The first Ministry, formed on July 13, 1949 under the leadership of the Hon. Joseph R. Smallwood, was still in office on June 30, 1967.